The Auburn University Graduate School invites all Auburn University band alumni in town for Homecoming against Western Carolina to a tour and reception in Hargis Hall at 5:30 p.m. Friday, Oct. 11.
Many band alumni will remember Hargis Hall as the "Music Building," a recital hall known for its good acoustics and cramped practice space. Come take a walk down memory lane and enjoy light refreshments in Hargis Hall after the tour!
For questions, contact Chris Anthony in the Graduate School at firstname.lastname@example.org.
History of Hargis Hall
Hargis Hall is one of the oldest buildings on Auburn's campus. Construction began in 1887, and the building opened on May 19, 1888. It originally housed the Department of Chemistry but has also been home to the School of Architecture, the School of Pharmacy, and the Music Department over the years. It currently houses the Graduate School's administrative offices.
The building was named after Dr. Estes Hargis, a longtime Birmingham physician who attended Auburn from 1915-1917.
Hargis Hall has been through two fires since it was constructed, one in December 1978 and another in October 2011. The fire of 1978 resulted in the entire building being gutted. The steeple was destroyed and had to be reconstructed based on old photographs. The fire of 2011 only left the building with minimal fire damage in the steeple but extensive water and smoke damage in the remainder of the building.
Although the building has sustained two fires, the outside of the building has changed very little since its original completion.
Hargis Hall predates Samford Hall by only a few months. It was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1976.